New Music

The Venopian Solitude releases “Hikayat Perawan Majnun”

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The Venopian Solitude (TVS) is on a definite upward trajectory. In the space of ONE YEAR:

  • She received our Wknd Recording Fund back in April 2013
  • went on to record and release her first official single “Warkah Narcissus” the following June
  • signed a record deal with Kasi Gegar Entertainment in July
  • performed at the Kansai Music Conference in September
  • performed on the Upfront stage at Urbanscapes in November
  • performed at JakCloth Jakarta in December
  • and probably more that we haven’t kept up with…

And now just one year later, March 12, 2014 marks the release of what we predict will be a landmark album in the Malaysian music scene. Because The Venopian Solitude is set to unleash upon the world the masterpiece that is known as “Hikayat Perawan Majnun”.

Hikayat? Perawan? Majnun?! Yeah, exactly.

Conformity and middle-of-the-roadness is not what TVS is about. We had the privilege of having an early listen to the eight tracks from the album, and it’s chock-full of gems that make it hard to describe and pigeonhole the music. From that aspect, TVS has probably achieved what she set out to do – challenge the norm and raise the bar.

There’s no typical sappy, reverb-drenched love-dovey ballads. No acoustic-tinged pseudo-navel-gazing numbers either. But in their place are uncommon, powerful and melodic numbers driven forward in a relentless march through the insanity of her lyrics. It wouldn’t be hard to say that you would get this album just on the strength of her storytelling alone.

But we’ll reserve the album review for a later post on The Wknd – there’s just too much to talk about!

In the meantime, we’ve got an exclusive interview with The Venopian Solitude; we talk about the record, the TRILINGUAL track “Stampede” and what’s in store for the unexpecting masses…

The album is masterfully crafted by producer Anas Amdan and co-producer Kemat. “Hikayat Perawan Majnun” – with its unconventional compositions and unique packaging – can be ordered through or from iTunes (from 12 March onwards) at